For the complete text of laws governing the forfeiture of a motor vehicle in the California Vehicle Code, click here.
The Ripon Police Department is open for vehicle releases 24 hours a day. The vehicle owner is required to obtain a Vehicle Release prior to picking up the vehicle from the tow company. In order to obtain a Vehicle Release:
- You must be the Registered Owner.
- You must have a valid driver’s license. If you do not have a valid driver’s license, you must have a California identification card, passport or other government issued photo identification and you must bring a driver that has a valid driver’s license.
- Your vehicle must have current registration. If your vehicle has expired registration, you must obtain a One Day Moving Permit from DMV.
- Your vehicle must be insured and insurance information must be on file with DMV.
- You will need the license plate number of your impounded vehicle or your case number.
- You must pay the vehicle release fee of $195.00 cash. (Additional fees are to be paid separately to the tow company. Please contact the tow company for tow fee information).
- Complete the Vehicle Release Form and submit form to the Ripon Police Department located at 259 N Wilma Ave. Vehicle Release forms are also available in the lobby of the Ripon Police Department (Box #2).
30 Day Impounds
Vehicles impounded pursuant to California Vehicle Code 14602.6 will be held for 30 calendar days.